As part of measures to deal with boundary dispute within and outside the state, the Delta State Government yesterday, inaugurated the Delta State Boundary Committee.

The Committee according to the Delta State Boundary Committee Law, 2002 has as its Chairman, His Excellency, the Deputy Governor of Delta State, Barr. Kingsley Otuaro. While other members includes; The State Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, the Commissioner for Lands, Survey and Urban Development, The Commissioner for Works, The Commissioner for information and the Commissioner for Finance. Other Members according to the Law includes, The Commissioner for Economic Planning, while The Permanent Secretary, Lands, Survey and Urban Development is to act as Secretary and also a member of the Committee.

Affairs, The Surveyors-General as well as a Boundary Scholar. Also the Committee has in its composition, three traditional rulers, one from each senatorial district and they are; HRM, Pere Stanley Kalanama VIII, (the Pere of Akugbene-Mein) Delta South, HRM, Agbogidi Obi Henry Kikachukwu (Obi of Ubulu-Unor), Delta North while HRM. Samson Omene, Udurhie 1 (the Ovie Of Mosogar) represent Delta Central respectively.

Inaugurating the Delta State Boundary Committee, the Delta State Deputy Governor, Barr. Kingsley Otuaro, who is also the Chairman of the Committee while congratulating the members, highlighted the functions of the Committee in the task ahead. According to him; the Committee is to deal with Inter-Local Government Boundary dispute within the state with a view to resolving them. To monitor border relations with neighbouring States and between Local Government Area within the State, with a view to detecting areas of tension and possible conflicts and necessary measures to addressing them.

He noted that other functions of the committee is also to liaise with Boundary Committees of neighboring States with a view to making joint measures to promote cordial inter-communal and inter-state relationship, to constantly evaluate the development and needs of border areas and advise Government accordingly, to secure and promote all boundary marks, includes beacons, angle iron or pillars of any nature in place for the purpose of demarcating the boundaries.

Further, the Committee is to evolve measures for equitable joint utilization of the shared border resources, facilities and amenities along State and Local Government Area borders and to encourage and promote joint inter-communal development ventures among border dwellers. Barr. Otuaro asserted that as its function also, the Delta State Boundary Committee is to encourage and negotiate settlement of boundary disputes and other related issues, to monitor and co-ordinate the activities of Local Government Boundary Committee within the State and deal with disputes beyond the competence of the said Committee and to interact with the Zonal liaison officer of the National Boundary Commission in the area.

Highpoint of the occasion was the official inauguration of the Delta State Boundary Committee by the Delta State Deputy Governor, Barr. Kingsley Otuaro.